Build-A-Wardrobe · Historical Sew Monthly Projects · Year-in-Review

2022 Year-in-Review

What a year! I can’t believe how much I accomplished, although having no classes and only working part time after May really freed up a lot of time for me. This allowed me to complete 11/12 Historical Sew Monthly challenges. I also attended several costumed events, so that was very enjoyable after being cooped up for so long. I also expanded my historical wardrobe with some great reproduction pieces from Emmy Design.

January

In January, I padded out my dress form to match my dimensions. This was a big deal, as it allows me to actually use my dressform for fitting and draping.

Photo by author.

February (1)

In February I finally completed the long stays I had started in August 2021.

Photo by author.

April (1)

In April I finished a WIP, my feminist 18th c. pockets. I haven’t actually posted about them yet.

Photo by author.

June-August (3)

From June onwards I worked on several projects as part of an outfit. I managed to complete a regency gown and a new chemise as well as trim a bonnet. I fudged my bodiced petticoat to the point where it was wearable.

Photo by author.
Photo by author.
Photo by author.

October-November (3)

In October I began working on pieces for Victorian Stroll in December. After hand sewing my regency gown, being able to machine sew felt like experiencing jet travel after traveling on foot! I completed the drawers, petticoat, and bustle pad. I finished the final piece I needed for Victorian Stroll, the walking skirt, in December.

Photo by author.
Photo by author.
Photo by author.

December (3)

After finishing up my walking skirt for Victorian Stroll, I only had a week to complete some accessories for a Jane Austen event. I had planned to finish a chemisette I had started earlier in the year, and draft and sew some detachable undersleeves. I managed to complete both just in time!

Photo by author.
Photo by author.
Photo by author.

I tried to complete my redingote I’d started back in 2019 as my 12th challenge for the Historical Sew Monthly, but some new issues with it cropped up once I had the skirt on, so I didn’t make the deadline. However, making myself cut the skirt was really the mental hurdle I needed to overcome to finish this, so I don’t regret the work I did get done on it.

Photo by author.
Photo by author.

How was your year? Did you do what you set out to? What was your favorite project? Your favorite failure? Mine was a skirt that showed me I really need to stop wasting otherwise good quilting cottons in garments and invest in good apparel fabrics.

2 thoughts on “2022 Year-in-Review

Leave a comment